Main Menu

  1. Home
  2. About
  3. Policy
  4. Education & Outreach
  5. Careers
  6. News
  7. Grants & Prizes
  8. Membership
  9. Events
  10. Publications

Prize Lectures

The Society awards a range of prizes in recognition of significant contributions to microbiology. Nominations for these awards are invited from the membership each year. An appointed Prize Award Panel, chaired by the General Secretary of the Society, will be responsible for presenting a shortlist for the Prize Medal and a recommendation for all other Prize Lecture winners to Council for endorsement when they meet in September. The successful recipient will be invited to accept and the announcement made in the following February edition of Microbiology Today, the Society's magazine.

Nominations for the 2018 Prize Lectures and 2019 Prize Medal are now open. The deadline for submission of nominations is 7 June 2017. Please direct queries regarding Prizes to

Rules for all Prizes

  1. Prizes are awarded on the conditions that the work comprising the subject matter of the nomination has been conducted in good faith and to the highest professional and ethical standards, and that all information and documentation in support of the same, and in support of any nomination in connection with the same, are true, factual and not misleading. The Society reserves the right to withdraw any prize awarded if the Society considers any of the aforementioned conditions not to have been satisfied or if the Society, in its absolute discretion, considers that withdrawing any prize awarded, would be in the best interests of the Society and/or the integrity of the prize in question.
  2. All Prizes are awarded annually.
  3. Nominations shall be made by any two members of the Society; the nominee need not be a member of the Society. Nominations may require accompanying documentation; please see individual Prize information for requirements. Recipients of Prizes may not be nominated on a subsequent occasion though unsuccessful nominees may be resubmitted the following year.
  4. The recipient will be expected to present a lecture based on his or her work to an appropriate meeting or event of the Society. Expenses of the lecturer will be paid by the Society. At the discretion of the Editors of the Society’s journals, the recipient may also be strongly encouraged to publish the lecture in a suitable journal.
  5. Unless otherwise stipulated by the criteria, there shall be no restriction by means of age, nationality or gender of those eligible for Microbiology Society Prizes. The Society encourages an expectation of at least 33%, and ideally 50% of female participation. Nominators are encouraged to consider the entire talent pool available for their nomination.
  1. Unilever Colworth Prize Lecture (sponsored by Unilever Safety & Environmental Assurance Centre)

    The Prize, sponsored by Unilever Safety & Environmental Assurance Centre (SEAC), is awarded annually to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding contribution to translational microbiology.

  2. Prize Medal

    Awarded annually to an outstanding microbiologist who is a global leader in his or her field and whose work has had a far-reaching impact beyond the discipline of microbiology.

  3. Fleming Prize Lecture

    Awarded annually to an early career researcher who has achieved an outstanding research record within 12 years of being awarded their PhD. Years may be added to this total in respect to substantive reasons, which could include maternity/paternity leave, long-term sickness, or similar reasons.

  4. Peter Wildy Prize Lecture

    Awarded annually to an individual for an outstanding contribution to microbiology education and/or communication in order to stimulate interest and understanding in the subject. This may include university teaching or education of the general public, school students or professional groups and is without restriction on the area of microbiology in which the award is made.

  5. Marjory Stephenson Prize Lecture

    Awarded annually to an individual who has made exceptional contributions to the discipline of microbiology.

  6. Fred Griffith Prize Lecture

    The Fred Griffith Prize, awarded biennially for a long and distinguished service in any area of microbiology, has been retired and will no longer be awarded.

Upcoming Events

  1. Annual Conference 2017

    3 - 6 Apr     EICC, Edinburgh, UK

Use of Cookies

This site uses cookies to help make it more useful and reliable. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies.
You can find out more by reading our cookie policy.